VISTA Professors

From VISTA's strategy document 2014 - 2019:

VISTA supports a professorship at all times. The objective is to "liberate" a researcher of excellent repute so that he or she can work full-time on research and research supervision within their field of expertise. Part-time professorships may be considered in exceptional cases. The professorship is granted on the proviso that there is a research plan for the period of appointment and that the professor will be working at a recognised research institution.

The professorship may be used to recruit internationally leading candidates with a view to building up expertise in an important priority area for VISTA.

The VISTA professorship is normally advertised every three years. Institutions apply for the VISTA professorship themselves, and the applications are processed by the VISTA board.

Current VISTA professor:

Robert Gawthorpe

Rob Gawthorpe is a professor in the Department of Earth Science at the University of Bergen. His research focuses on the sedimentology, stratigraphy and tectonics of sedimentary basins, using carefully chosen natural examples (outcrop and subsurface) integrated with numerical modelling of structure, landscape development and deposition. His VISTA professorship also provides visiting scholarship opportunities for PhD and postdoctoral candidates to visit Bergen to work on research into tectonics and sedimentation and source-to-sink studies. He was appointed VISTA Professor in 2018.
Read more

Former VISTA professors:

Jan M. Nordbotten

Jan M. Nordbotten is a professor of mathematics at the University of Bergen and was the VISTA professor from 2013-2015. His research is devoted to fundamental challenges in the realm of applied mathematics and engineering. While developing active collaborations within many fields of interest, the core research effort is focused on four main themes: A) Multiscale modeling and simulation. B) Numerical methods. C) Application to real problems of flow and deformation in geological formations.

Bjørn Ursin

Bjørn Ursin is a professor in the Department of Petroleum Engineering and Applied Geophysics at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim. His career in academia and in the oil industry spans four decades. Ursin has received numerous awards and honours. In 2010 he was made an honorary member of the Society of Exploration Geophysics. Bjørn Ursin became a VISTA Professor in 2008.
Read more

Ivar Aavatsmark

Aavatsmark holds a researcher I position at the Centre for Integrated Petroleum Research at the University of Bergen and a professor II position at the Department of Mathematics at the same university. His research focuses on mathematical methods for reservoir simulation.
Read more

Trond Torsvik

Trond H. Torsvik, formerly Senior Scientist and programme director / team leader for the area Regional Geophysics at the Centre for Geodynamics at the Norwegian Geological Survey (NGU) and a professor at the University of Bergen and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim, was made a VISTA Professor in 2000.
Read more

Frode Fonnum

Frode Fonnum, professor of toxicology and research director at the Norwegian Defence Research Establishment, was made a VISTA Professor in 1996. He conducts research on the mechanisms of action in the central nervous system.
Read more

Ivar Giæver

Ivar Giæver has been associated with the research project "The physics of porous media" under Statoil's direction since 1989. He became a VISTA Professor in 1994.
Read more

Bernt Øksendal

In 1992 Bernt Øksendal was appointed as the very first VISTA Professor. A professor of mathematics at the University of Oslo, Øksendal has been affiliated with the VISTA project "Fluid flow in stochastic reservoirs" in the priority area "Improved recovery".
Read more
Drammensveien 78 · NO-0271 OSLO · NORWAY
Tel: +47 22 84 15 00 / +47 415 10 974
E-mail: vista@dnva.no